same. It has jurisdiction in cases of controversies between the Dominion and the provinces, and between the provinces themselves on condition that the Legislatures pass Acts agreeing to such jurisdiction. Under Act of the Canadian Parliament passed in 1891, the Governor in Council may refer to the Supreme Court for an opinion upon any matter which he deems advisable in the public interest.

The court is presided over by a chief justice and five puisne judges. From its decision an appeal lies to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council of England, except in criminal cases; in these the judgment of the Supreme Court is final.

The Exchequer Court, presided over by a single judge, possesses exclusive original jurisdiction in all cases in which demand is made or relief sought in any suit or action of the Court of Exchequer, on its revenue side, against the Crown or any of its officers. This court also possesses original jurisdiction in all cases in which it is sought to enforce any law relating to the revenue. It is also a Colonial Court of Admiralty.

The Superior courts of the several provinces are constituted as follows:—Ontario—The Supreme Court of Judicature, consisting of two permanent divisions called respectively the High Court of Justice for Ontario and the Court of Appeal for Ontario. The first division is again divided into three parts, having concurrent jurisdiction, Queen's Bench, Common Pleas and Chancery, the first two of which are presided over by a Chief Justice and two judges for each, and the third of which is composed of a chancellor and three judges. Quebec—The Chief Justice of the Queen's Bench and five puisne judges, whose residences are fixed in various parts of the province. Nova Scotia and New Brunswick—The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the Judge in Equity and five and four puisne judges respectively. Manitoba—The Chief Justice and three puisne judges. British Columbia—The Chief Justice and four puisne judges. Prince Edward Island—The Chief Justice and two assistant judges. In the North-west Territories there are five puisne judges of the Supreme Court.

There are also county courts with variously limited jurisdiction in all the provinces, but not in the North-west Territories. Police magistrates and justices appointed by the provincial governments have their place in the administration of justice.

The Mounted Police Force in the North-west Territories constitute a tribunal of justice, the Commissioner and the Assistant Commissioner having all the powers of a stipendiary magistrate, and the superintendents being ex-officio justices of the peace.

Part of the unorganized territories came into possession of Canada by virtue of the Queen's Order of June 23, 1870 (see Statutes of Canada, 1872, p. lxiii.) and part by virtue of the Queen's Order of 21st July, 1880 (see Statutes of Canada, 1881, pp. ix., x).

As to the portion of the unorganized territory which was by the Queen's Order of 23rd June, 1870, transferred to the Dominion, it may be taken that